The Sunday Salon 5.9.10

I’m coming to you this morning from the comfy armchair in our living room, but this is anything but a typical quiet Sunday morning. One of Bob’s three older brothers is celebrating his 35th birthday this weekend, so Bob and the other two flew him to Richmond, and it’s been a nonstop extravaganza.

And by extravaganza, I mean that right now, they are playing MarioKart and all the go-go-go on a Sunday is giving me the shakes.

I have already left the house this morning (on a bagel run), and I’m even wearing real pants, so you know this is serious.

It’s been a busy week in Book Lady Land. I reviewed two fabulous memoirs—Piper Kerman’s Orange is the New Black and Tom Jokinen’s Curtains: Adventures of an Undertaker-in-Training—and revealed what I look for in a review pitch.  I also shared a fundraising effort by the publishing community to support the victims of the Nashville flood and reminded you that the blog is about to undergo MAJOR changes, and you might need to update your subscription feed.

All very exciting stuff, but the really big news this week is that Michelle of Galleysmith and I announced our new business, Social MediU. We’re all about helping authors and other creative professionals understand and use social media to promote themselves and their products, and the emails are already rolling in. We’re going to have rockin’ clients.

(This concludes the moment of shameless self-promotion.)

I’ll be spending the rest of the morning out on the patio with The Queen of Palmyra. I had high expectations for it because of the many rave reviews, but I have to confess that I’m struggling with it. At the 150 page mark (out of almost 400), I’m not yet invested in the characters, and the narration is irritating me for a couple reasons. But I’m hopeful that it will improve, and regardless, I’ll have a review for you later this week.  This afternoon holds the promise of a BEA strategy session with the folks from Fountain Bookstore (definitely worth the donning of real pants!) and, if my dreams come true, a few hours of peace and quiet for a nap.

Apropos of nothing: for those of you interested, my sister’s new sister-in-law (who is totally rockin’ and managed to be BOTH a bridesmaid and a wedding photographer last week) has posted a few sneak peek images from their wedding. So, check ‘em out if you want.

I’m off to make some more coffee and start enjoying the day. What’s on tap for you?

12 Responses

  1. Sounds like an awful busy Sunday, I hope you get some quiet time in, and at least you are reading! I have heard a lot about that book too, I’m interested to see if it picks up for you. Did you see my disappointment? I tried to pick up Orange is the New Black yesterday but the bookstore I tried didn’t have it :( So sad.

  2. Best of luck to the new venture!

    I’m planning a few hours on my front porch later today, reading Poil de Carotte (Carrot Head, an old children’s book).

  3. Thanks for posting about the auction for Nashville. I followed your link over there and I’m really excited because I won an item!

    Good luck to you and Michelle in your new business venture!

  4. Rebecca, it’s been a busy week but I wanted to stop by to wish you luck on your new venture. You guys are going to be awesome!

    My day has been wonderful, but my Mother’s Day dinner got highjacked by a friend going through a messy divorce, but what can you do? I couldn’t throw the guy out.

  5. Hey you posted your full picture! It is nice to see the whole Rebecca! You have had a seriously busy week, but it sounds all good. I am completely excited for you and your new business. When I hear about things like this, I pray for success. It is all about chasing your dream and passions.

  6. Congrats on the business! You guys will be greeeeeeaaaaat!

  7. I can understand your thoughts on Queen of Palmyra. I really really liked it but I wasn’t addicted to reading it, if you know what I mean. It didn’t have the “can’t put it down” draw, but I liked reading about the subtle shift in the way the main character sees the world.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

