The Sunday Salon 5.16.10

Oh, interwebz. What a week it’s been!  I was hoping to launch the new look on Friday, but we encountered some glitches with importing my archives (and by glitches, I mean that my archives are twice the size of the standard import size) so you still have some time to update your feed or become a new subscriber before it switches over. (Thanks to all who offered help via Twitter, but there’s nothing to worry about. The fabulous designer is on it.)

I started the week with a piece about my recent streak of rave reviews, and I gave warning that my forthcoming reviews of The Singer’s Gun and Day for Night will both be gushy as well. Then my week got busy, and I didn’t get around to reviewing those two (look for them this week because at this point, it’s review it before BEA or bust!), but I DID end up being accidentally ironic by then writing a negative review of a book many authors have loved: Minrose Gwin’s The Queen of Palmyra.

I also blogged about my night with Swapna and Michelle at the Junior League of Richmond’s Book & Author Dinner (where I met Abraham Verghese and just *barely* resisted the urge to throw my panties at him, and then breathed a huge sigh of relief when he was kind enough to not only read the post but comment on it and assure me that he gets the whole pantyworthy thing). It was a fabulous event, and I’ve started thinking of it as the warm-up for BEA and the Book Blogger Convention.

Speaking of the Book Blogger Convention, have you seen the auction we’re running?  There are really amazing items up for grabs, and all of the proceeds go to First Book.

Let’s see.  What else?

I started Matterhorn this week, and so far, it is really stunning. It reminds me of The Things They Carried in many ways, and the sense of place, along with Marlantes’s ability to take readers so far into an experience that is so far outside of what most of us will ever know, is amazing.  I don’t normally like war novels, but this is just above and beyond, and I can tell it’s one of those books that I’m going to be shoving on people, saying “Trust me. You’ll thank me later.”  My goal is to finish it before I leave for BEA next Monday, but I’m not sure how realistic that is.

Also, I’m suffering from the rare (for me) desire to read more than one book at the same time, since I had the pleasure of meeting Joanna Smith Rakoff during her event at Fountain Bookstore this week. I started reading her novel, A Fortunate Age, while I waited to meet her for coffee, and after about ten pages, I was wondering why I’d taken so long to pull it off the TBR pile. I’m telling myself it will be my travel book for the BEA trip, and I’m really looking forward to getting back to it. I’m also looking forward to welcoming Joanna for a guest post this week.

And now, for those of you who requested photos from my sister’s wedding two weeks ago, I have a few to share. These were taken by Wendy Lewis (WendyLew Photography), who is my sister’s new sister-in-law. She managed to do double duty as a bridesmaid AND wedding photographer, and these images couldn’t be any more beautiful.

First, the site of the ceremony: All Saints Chapel in downtown Raleigh, NC.

Photo credit: WendyLew Photography

A great portrait of Sarah and Tim, on the front steps of the chapel.

Photo credit: WendyLew Photography

Family photo, plus Tim and Sarah’s dog Angus, who was the mascot of the day and *almost* followed the bride down the aisle.

Photo credit: WendyLew Photography

And one of Bob and me, after several hours of celebrating. (Did I mention that the wedding party entered the reception to the Rocky theme song and then performed the dance to “Jump On It?”  Buy me a margarita at BEA, and I’ll demonstrate!)

Photo credit: WendyLew Photography

I’m off to spend my Sunday reading, napping, and working on a fun project that may or may not involve a few more crazy photos AND the phenomenon known as #bookspastic. (Actually, it’s two separate projects, but who’s counting?)  I’ll also be trying to forget the hilarious image of my eight-year-old nephew (who spent the night with us last night in order to escape a sleepover of seven 10-year-old girls at his house) taking down an entire GINORMOUS piece of triple chocolate cake at dinner last night. It’s like the kid has a hollow leg.

I’m pretty sure that the universe has decided to rob me of lazy Sundays for a while, so I’m trying to embrace it. What are you up to today?

And P.S. If you or someone you know is planning a wedding in Raleigh, I can’t recommend Orangerie Events highly enough.  Priscilla Erwin did a fabulous job coordinating all of the details of my sister’s big day, so the rest of us were free to relax, enjoy, and just be present.

Happy Sunday!

13 Responses

  1. Your on! Margaritas on me.

  2. What beautiful pictures! And I’m definitely in for buying you a margarita to see that performance – anyone else with me? ;)

  3. I think you’re in trouble. I suspect you will have more than your share of margharitas purchased for you in NY. Just make sure someone takes pictures! And speaking of pictures, thanks for the wedding photos – gorgeous! Love the dog!

  4. A Fortunate Age starts out well but really isn’t very good at all. I mean, it is pretty bad. i read it for B&N First Look and even though people normally gush about books there, they couldn’t with this one. I will be interested in your review

  5. I can’t wait to see your blog’s new look! I love the wedding photos – especially the one outside of the chapel.

  6. A dog at the wedding!
    Divine.

  7. Wow you are attempting conversion right before BEA! You are brave. I can’t wait to see the new look and if you have any tech questions let me know!

  8. Thanks for sharing the wedding pics. Lovely!

  9. Thanks for sharing the wedding photos … I love looking at wedding photos!

  10. Glad to hear that Matterhorn is good even if you don’t like war books. Now I might have to try it! Hope the new site starts going well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

